Oft In The Stilly Night

A poignant Merry Christmas to you and yours….present in the here and now…and to those who have passed and are no longer with you. I meant to publish good wishes on Christmas Day but I found that a friend had passed and was knocked silent for the day.

2016-christmas-eve-living-postonwordpress-boris

I wish you Happy Holidays and hope you enjoy the rest of the Christmas season. Sit before the fire, draw those loved ones still with you a little closer and raise a cup to the memory of loved ones who have gone before. Our lives are richer for having known them.

 

Oft in the stilly night
Ere Slumber’s chain has bound me,
Fond Memory brings the light
Of other days around me;
The smiles, the tears,
Of boyhood’s years,
The words of love then spoken;
The eyes that shone,
Now dimmed and gone,
The cheerful hearts now broken!
Thus, in the stilly night,
Ere Slumber’s chain has bound me,
Sad Memory brings the light
Of other days around me.

When I remember all
The friends so linked together,
I’ve seen around me fall,
Like leaves in wintry weather:
I feel like one
Who treads alone
Some banquet-hall deserted,
Whose lights are fled,
Whose garland’s dead,
And all but he departed!
Thus in the stilly night,
Ere Slumber’s chain has bound me,
Fond Memory brings the light
Of other days around me.

~ Thomas Moore

 

On Christmas Eve our neighborhood, tucked into the dunes, sets out luminaries. As dusk falls we fill bags with beach sand and candles then light our corner of the world before heading out to gatherings with friends and families.

2016-christmas-eve-luminaries-3
Light. Our friends bring light into our lives. Will, we are richer to have known you.

Blessings on you and yours in this season of light!

6 thoughts on “Oft In The Stilly Night

    • Thank you! We think of it as our refuge. We like Mid-Century Modern and have some and a lot of original art work and instruments. Instruments and cats and reading materials lying around.

Leave a Reply

