Summer From The Top of a Swing

nostalgiathesummerfromthetopofaswing

The summer from the top of a swing..pure nostalgia.

How do you like to go up in a swing,
Up in the air so blue?
Oh, I do think it the pleasantest thing
Ever a child can do!

Up in the air and over the wall,
Till I can see so wide,
River and trees and cattle and all
Over the countryside–

Till I look down on the garden green,
Down on the roof so brown–
Up in the air I go flying again,
Up in the air and down!

~ Robert Louis Stevensen

And if you are like me you forget the broken arms and broken noses and remember only the pure, soaring joy.

(PS This is my nephew about 10 years ago at Grand Haven State Park, on the beach in Grand Haven, Michigan. If you look under his feet you can see the red lighthouses.)

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/photo-challenges/nostalgia/

26 thoughts on “Summer From The Top of a Swing

  1. Pingback: Nostalgia: Paris | What's (in) the picture?

  2. A fling on a swing and one’s heart starts to sing;
    One feels like a king
    As to ropes one will cling,
    Taking wing on a pendulum-thing!

    Isn’t it annoying that so many playgrounds don’t allow adults on the equipment?

    • Great words..I still love to swing.

      You are a Septic Geranium, you are old enough now to do what you will. The only caveat is you gotta let any kids you see have the swing if they want it.

      A lot of our public beaches have big, sturdy swings on them. Strong enough for the adults who use them too. The last time I was on one was last Spring. I chatted with a sixty something woman from Texas who was renting a local cottage for a family gathering. We swung, side by side, talking and watching the sunset. Afterwards she went back to her rental and I got on my bicycle and went home.

      • That is really civilised, catering for adults as well. I intend to erect a tall swing somewhere in our rather small grounds, and can then use it to my heart’s content! I am the only adult to date who has dared a terrifying slide I put up here.

  3. Pingback: Summer 2017 Must Have!!!! – Heaven Blessed

Leave a Reply

