Rosie’s Diner

I can’t stop myself for my life is filled with Happy Places.

Rosie'sHappyPlace

She’s closed now but, my, the marvelous breakfasts we had. Corned Beef Hash with eggs and cheddar cheese, biscuits and gravy and stuffed French toast gave way to Hot Beef Sandwiches or ‘the Special’ for lunch. We went together, often had guests and always sat at the counter so we could marvel at the short order cooks as they worked their magic. When all was said and done; a malted milk shake or homemade pie ala mode sent us out into the cold night under a sweet benediction.

She faded slowly and now sits empty but the memories are good and just all that. If I smile I can taste the crispy hash browns. Mommy!

Edit:

This is from a comment made to a reply from Mike: There are three empty diners on the site now. All were collected by an area artist and teacher, Jerry Berta, who loved diners and made ceramic diners. One entire diner was turned over to his atelier, plus kiln, as a matter of fact he fired some of my clay work in exchange for me working there once. Alas, he over extended, bought that third diner and tried to change it into a chi chi wine and supper place and it turns out we lowly customers want our diners to be greasy food castles. That final purchase was followed by a death in the family (if I remember correctly.) and the diner has since changed hands. Jerry also built a fantabulous mini golf course on the site. It is heartbreaking when we pass Rosie’s now as she is a little worse for wear and sits empty.

Look at Jerry Berta’s great diner art! Oh man, look at those prices. I should have bought one for a hundred dollars or so back when I could:http://fineartamerica.com/featured/neon-diner-jerry-berta.html

And for you American’s who remember the old commercials you have seen this diner in commercials. Yes, it is THAT Rosie’s

More Happiness

13 thoughts on “Rosie’s Diner

  1. there used to be a diner just like that near my place in Montreal years ago. It was ace… then it was sold and turned into a wine bar.. that was shit… and then it disappeared altogether. Sad.

    • Oh man. I LOVE diners. To turn one into a wine bar is better than a poke in the eye but it’s not part of the natural order of diners. There are three empty diners on the site now. All were collected by an area artist and teacher, Jerry Berta, who loved diners and made ceramic diners. One entire diner was turned over to his atelier plus kiln, as a matter of fact he fired some of my clay work in exchange for me working there once. Alas, he over extended, bought that third diner and tried to change it into a chi chi wine and supper place and it turns out we lowly customers want our diners to be greasy food castles. That was followed by a death in the family (if I remember correctly.) and the diner has since changed hands. Jerry also built a fantabulous mini golf course on site. It is heartbreaking when we pass Rosie’s now as she is a little worse for wear and sits empty.

      Look at Jerry Berta’s great diner art! Oh man, look at those prices. I should have bought one for a hundred dollars or so back when I could. And I need to edit this all in to the main post as there is so much to the history of this place: http://fineartamerica.com/featured/neon-diner-jerry-berta.html

      • I completely forgot about this comment, sorry, I’ve been suffering a degree of apathy since returning from the Himalayas! “Greasy food castles” haha, wonderful turn of phrase! Thanks for the ace reply, really get a sense of your enthusiasm. It would be super to have a diner over here in Cornwall but alas I fear it might “dissolve” in the perpetually damp, salty atmosphere…

  2. As a frequent visitor to the US from England, I’ve never got my head round the idea of biscuits and gravy, but I am starting to feel the allure of the diner. I like the idea of homemade pie ala mode but I haven’t a clue what it is!

  3. What a shame. I can imagine Rosie in the 50’s with curlers on her head, and a cigarette dangling form her mouth pouring coffee and asking: Hi Honey, what’ll you have?

Leave a Reply

