The Wheel of Time: Solstice

The wheel of time spins another deep indigo violet evening.

DSC_6469e copy

“To-morrow, and to-morrow, and to-morrow,
Creeps in this petty pace from day to day,
To the last syllable of recorded time..”
~ Shakespearre

Now is Solstice, the longest day of the year. I feel the stars wheeling faster overhead as summer threatens to slip away before she begins. Even as the light lingers on the horizon I sense the approach of winter deep in my stomach. This is primal. It drove our ancestors to dance naked under summer skies as they worshiped the great wheel of time.

The photo? It’s Car Henge. Isn’t it great?! Time was flying and we were too late to shoot this tourist attraction of Western Nebraska. I couldn’t let it go so I shot it in the dark, difficult without a tri-pod, and I was lucky enough to catch a setting moon.

Happy Solstice! Get out there and catch summer before she’s gone.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Carhenge

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_photo_challenge/roy-g-biv/

18 thoughts on “The Wheel of Time: Solstice

  1. I’d love to know that place in person, it’s a very original and artistic way to leave our print. We in the South are entering to winter, I hope you have a nice summer Kim, regards.

    • Thank you. I wanted to do more work on the print..using layers in photoshop to make the cars as shiny as show room models. I’ll learn how and do it someday.

    • We love our car culture. We used to be the land of roadside attraction; gigantic statues of Paul Bunyan, Cows, even strawberries. All little ‘tourist traps’ where the locals tried to capture business from the passing tourists.

  2. Of all the photos I’ve seen of Car Henge, this is the one I like best. Sometimes when you’re in a hurry, you might take photos that would not ordinarily do. I love the dark blue of the cars against the lighter blue of the sky—nice contrast. I love how you were able to get two of the cars in the empty spaces between “henges”. I don’t know if that’s the moon in the middle opening or not, but it certainly could pass for the moon. A really nice job.
    Here’s my entry: https://fstopfantasy.wordpress.com/2015/06/21/roy-g-biv-colors-a-plenty/

    • Thank you. I am contemplating printing the banner and entering it in a fund raising auction. What sailor doesn’t like spinnakers out and the entire fleet running with the wind?

      • :-).
        That sounds like a good idea. I’ve thought about doing that with some of mine too. Haven’t found the time yet.

    • Ha ha!!!! We drove out of the way looking for this ‘attraction’. I was insistent, my spouse was tired of driving back roads looking for it.I’m glad I missed its daytime glory because the night added a kookie kind of mystery. I really need to hone my PS skills because I have an urge to raise this wry comment on American pop culture to the mythic.

Leave a Reply

