Blowing up Quicksand

This is the second sunset of a 3 day gale from 2012. Quicksand is formed during gales. Look at the bottom of this photo and you can see the wind and waves conspiring to mix up a new batch.IMG_1696eWPIt’s not the waves alone but the one two punch of the wind kicking up the sand and driving the water higher up on the beach that does it. I guess East Coaster’s would call this the ‘storm surge’. In any event that is a boot sucking hold you floundering in place until the next high wave set can grab you and drag you out to sea patch of quicksand.

Nature is awesome indeed.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_photo_challenge/forces-of-nature/

19 thoughts on “Blowing up Quicksand

    • Michigan is far enough North that dawn and dusk linger creating amazing photo opportunities. You can get the loveliest portraits at those times of day. I love visiting warmer climates but I am always taken aback at how short the sunset seems to be.

    • It’s not like the old Hollywood or cartoon style that eats you alive. It’s kinda like getting stuck in clean mud up that’s up to your knees. I was riding along the water line once (firm, packed sand), hit a patch of quicksand and instantly sunk to my hubs almost going over the handlebar. It was a struggle to get the bike out. What with wet sand jammed in every opening it was a miserable mile and half walk back to the roadway. It had to go to the bike shop to be cleaned well enough to ride again.

      • I’ve been rolled good a couple of times on the bottom after wiping out on my boogie board. It was warm ish..I can swim and I had my board. I don’t think I’d like to get rolled in the cold sea fully clothed during a gale. I’m not sure it happens that often though. Stinging sand in your eyes help keep the beaches clear.

    • I just got back from a sweet kayak trip on a river…the water was clear, trees and grass green, gentle temperatures and soft winds and the birds were singing..nature was serene today and it was awesome too. 😀

Leave a Reply

