It’s a Marshmallow World

It’s a Marshmallow World In The Winter

DSC_9166WP

It’s a marshmallow world in the winter,
When the snow comes to cover the ground,
It’s the time for play, it’s a whipped cream day,
I wait for it all year round.

I took this earlier this evening. I girded my loins against the lingering gale, sucked it up and just did it. It was a piquant, nose pinching cold but not so cold you froze the top of your lungs. Meh, cold enough you knew you had to keep moving or risk harm.

The snow, oh man, the snow is perfect for snow shoeing; packed hard and deep. On top of that snow is the lightest, fluffiest beautiful powder. The Mackinaw Bridge Authority didn’t think today’s powder was so pretty. The Mac was closed due to low visibility and multiple accidents brought on by the gale driven blowing snow. When all was done at the end of the day the winds had left behind these FABULOUS formations in the dune grass. It was buttercream on top of a big old beach cake to me. I wanted to climb to the top of the rail, spin around and fall, arms outstretched, into those merengue peaks. They were too pretty. And I was carrying about $4,000 worth of camera equipment.

That is Lake Michigan in the middle of the shot. You can see the first line of ice pressure ridges and then it’s ice out to the horizon and beyond. I am quite tired of winter but it is lovely. I’m told It’s a Marshmallow World was one of my mother’s favorite songs so this is for her.

About the song, Marshmallow World: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Marshmallow_World If you give it a listen, my favorite is Darlene Love on the 1963 version put out by Phil Spector.

7 thoughts on “It’s a Marshmallow World

  1. It makes me think in the words of architect Meier, that said that his favorite color was white because it could get any color with the chance of the colors in the sky. With your composition I see it perfectly, kind regards and thanks.

    • Yeah, it was cold. What happened? When I was a kid I’d walk for hours in the winter woods with my feet in old bread bags inside my cruddy shoes. I didn’t have boots. I didn’t have a coat, just layers of what I could find. It didn’t bother me. I loved it. Now I have high-tech gear out the wazoo but this inner monologue whines, “ButIdon’twanna.” It’s a fight to get out the door as my inner slug wants to stay on the couch under blankets. Once I’m out I’m ‘cool’ with it.

      • Kids are little furnaces though… I could spend all day in a cold sea without a wetsuit.. not now.
        I used to enjoy the extreme cold that happened from time during Montreal winters however…

      • Montreal…now I’m impressed. Yesterday and today it was cold enough to … not sure what it is that is happening but I call it ‘freeze drying the top of my lungs’. Just…ouch.

Leave a Reply

