Summer Sang In Me

I cannot say what loves have come and gone,
I only know that summer sang in me
A little while, that in me sings no more.

100_80084x6BWWordPress

What started me down this line of thought? The weather report, no, the ‘ice’ report. Read it and weep: http://www.mlive.com/weather/index.ssf/2015/02/arctic_blast_sends_great_lakes.html
The Lake is gorgeous in it’s fantastique formations but it’s gonna be another late spring followed by a cool summer. This cramps my summer sailing, kayaking, camping, swimming, beaching style. I can still do all those things..just..a bit later in the year and dressed in a sweater.

While I’m on this bittersweet bent would you like to read the rest of Edna St. Vincent Millay’s Work? A good piece of poetry not only clarifies your feelings it can take your mind off the weather:

You can find the full poem here:
http://www.poets.org/poetsorg/poem/what-lips-my-lips-have-kissed-and-where-and-why-sonnet-xliii

2 thoughts on “Summer Sang In Me

Leave a Reply

