Pink Lady’s Slipper

Pink Lady's Slipper

I bought my first landscape lens in May. (Yes, I know, but don’t you push to see how far your new lens will go?) I shot this at Loda Lake National Wildflower Sanctuary which is part of Manistee National Forest. It is a Pink Lady’s Slipper (Cypripedium acaule) (also known as Moccasin Flower) and depending on which site you are visiting it is variously listed as “unusual” “endangered” “exploitably vulnerable” and “commercially exploited/endangered”. It is a stunning wildflower. Someone had dug up the marked specimens along the trail. My first reaction was, “Wow, that was a short season.” But then I found this one further afield. I decided it best if I told no one about it. If someone is offering to sell you one chances are it, like the missing specimens from Loda Lake, was stolen.

P.S. If you are wondering how to pronounce Loda Lake it rhymes with shedload of mosquitoes.

2 thoughts on “Pink Lady’s Slipper

Leave a Reply

